My ways…

…are higher declares the Lord Isaiah 55:8-9

just one more time…

I would love to hear his voice just one more time.  After only 6 months I’m having a hard time remembering what his voice sounded like.

For days after he died, I called his phone over and over just to listen to his voice on his voice-mail.  Then his company disconnected his phone.  That was a hard day.

I would just like to hear him say “I love you” one more time.

I would love to hear him say “have a good day” in my ear as he hugged me goodbye for the day, one more time

I would love to hear him laugh one more time

I would love to hear him shout at the TV during a sporting event, one more time

I would love to hear him teach a theology class, one more time

I would love to hear him sort through an issue with me, one more time

I would love to hear him chatting with my kids, one more time

I would love to hear him read a kids story….would love to hear Emma squeal with delight when he added the same funny line to the story that he had done a hundred times before…just one more time.

I would love to hear his voice on the other end of the phone line, one more time

I would love to hear him read Scripture to us at supper,  just one more time.

it’s been a hard week emotionally….his presence and voice would have been so nice.

“How long, Lord? …..
     How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
    and day after day have sorrow in my heart?”

Psalm 13

6 Comments

  1. This entry makes me feel like an ass. As my husband left for work this morning, I was preparing tonight’s dinner (love my crockpot) and he leaned in to kiss me good-bye and wish me a good day. I was annoyed. Your post helps me to remember that I may not have him for the rest of my life and I should be grateful for such a loving and adoring husband that dotes on me. Thank you for posting this today.

  2. (((Hugs))) One more time… one more time would never be enough, but it sure would be nice… I hear your heart and mine beats right along side it. I love you, dear friend!

  3. Julie seboe

    Praying for you today!!!

  4. What I wouldn’t give for one more chat and hug… Thinking of you, Nicole.

    • Betty Finch

      Dear Nicole,
      My heart aches as I read your (just one more time). I am hear to tell you that, even one more time would not be enough. I know you & your children miss him, day & night and then month after month. I am sooo sorry for your loss, being you & he are young parents. It is going on 6 yrs. since my husband’s death; some days it feels like I just buried him & I cry. You know that tears are actually a healing of the body too, so cry if you feel the need. Believe me a memory, a relative or friend, a song, a picture or something someone says or a TV program can make you cry, without any warning. Just continue to talk about him, as this keeps all the good memories alive in your heart. I hope you are able to laugh when you remember some funny things he did or said. God bless you and your family. I am Susan Vollenweider’s mother inlaw.

      • Betty, thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

