My ways…

…are higher declares the Lord Isaiah 55:8-9

Thankful to be Thankful

I am. I am really thankful that I have much to be thankful for.    Even with the pain of loss there is so much to be thankful for.

Thanksgiving Day for our family, over the years, kind of morphed into a quiet dinner at home. Sometimes it would be just us, other times we would have another family or friend over.  I looked forward to the day with just family…good food, games, naps and more good food, a day that was rare with the busyness of life.   This year, we are traveling to Alabama.  My brother, his wife and five children live there.  An awful long way to travel for a meal, but I will say that my sister-in-law is an amazing cook!  Traveling 14 hours for that meal should prove it! 🙂

As tempting as it is to wallow in self-pity, it is still impossible to ignore the mountain of things in my life I am thankful for.  Being in the “house of mourning” I have seen the suffering that many people are enduring.  Is it bad to say that seeing what other people suffer causes me to be thankful?  I’m in awe when I see some of these people handle their suffering with such grace. The testimony of His faithfulness is evident.

The holidays are always a time that is dreaded by those who have experienced the loss of family members.   Have you ever noticed how much “family” is emphasized around the holidays?   You see families on commercials, in stores, on cards. It seems every time I turn around I’m seeing a dad shop with their kids, or a family out to dinner.   The other day I heard a mom and her little girl discussing what present to get for daddy.  That pit in my stomach came back for a moment.    I’ve always loved seeing dads with their kids,  and families doing things together, because we used to be one of those families.  But this year we are not one of those families.  No daddy to shop for, no family picture on the Christmas card, no dad to carve the turkey, no dad to do the Thanksgiving devotional, etc..etc…and it is painful.  Do you see how wide the path is to self-pity?  yeah, I’m not going there.  I’m choosing the path of Thankfulness.  This path is really not hard.  It really isn’t.  And that is what I’m thankful for.

Give praise to the Lord, proclaim his name;
    make known among the nations what he has done.
 Sing to him, sing praise to him;
    tell of all his wonderful acts.
 Glory in his holy name;
    let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice.
 Look to the Lord and his strength;
    seek his face always

I Chronicles 16:8-12

4 Comments

  1. Karen Zimmerman

    Nicole,
    Your strength is a testimate to others. I know what is the choice? there are lots of choices but you have choose the path of God and thankfulness and that is a blessing to your family and to those around you. Have a blessed Thanksgiving and safe travels to you and your family.

  2. Linda Cummings

    I just want to let you know that I am still praying for you and thinking of you and your family, Nicole. The holidays are the hardest….especially the first holiday that they’re gone. We will be wrapping your family up in prayer during these next few months, even more than usual. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family.

  3. Still praying for you. Hugs.

  4. I’m thankful you all get to be with your brother and his family this Thanksgiving! 😀

Leave a Reply

