My ways…

…are higher declares the Lord Isaiah 55:8-9

Entering 2013…..

as a widow.  It’s only taken me 9 months to get used to saying that I’m a widow.  Sometimes it still gets stuck in my throat.  But it’s becoming more familiar as time goes by.

I still remember the first New Year’s Chris spent with my family.  We had only been engaged a week.

Yes, my husband to be drove 1823 miles to ask me to marry him.  At the time we were both attending Calvary Bible College here in Belton, MO.  I was from Maine.  I didn’t have a clue that he had a ring when we drove all those miles together, stopping at friends houses along the way.  (now, as a mother of teenagers, I can see why my Dad wasn’t too awful happy about us driving all that way alone :-)).  I tried to prepare Chris, while we traveled, what to expect..he had not met any of my family yet.  I told him that we were heading to a log cabin in the middle of nowhere, that temps reach 30 below, that my family is game crazy, that I had a little sister I adored and 3 brothers who were probably going to be checking him out.  It was a wonderful time…he was duly impressed with my “rough it” life, loved my moms homemade bread and simmered for hours oatmeal.  He also saw the other side of  me (kinda competitive) when the games came out.  After being introduced to all that, he still walked me down to a lake behind my family’s cabin (about a mile or so in deep snow I might add) a few days before Christmas and asked me to marry him.   And thus began the next almost 19 years of my life.  A journey that was wonderful, fun, hard, sanctifying and fulfilling.  I wouldn’t change a minute of it..not even the bad parts,  Because the bad parts help you grow..its God’s way of refining you.

And now as I sit here this morning, a widow,  at the beginning of a new year…I wonder what the Lord has in store for me. The human part of me hopes it’s not as hard as last year, but I know whatever the Lord has for me he will give me the grace to walk through it.  He has proven Himself over and over again in my life the last nine months.

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you

will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.

Philippians 1:6

3 Comments

  1. Kim

    Sweet memories…I always love hearing your engagement story.

  2. Lori

    Thank you for sharing this sweet memory. What a beautiful love story. I pray you will be blessed and comforted by the lover of your soul.

  3. Karen Zimmerman

    You are a remarkable, graceful, strong woman. I am priveledged to know you and your walk with the Lord. I am continueing to pray for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

