My ways…

…are higher declares the Lord Isaiah 55:8-9

“And it is He who will supply all your needs according to his riches in glory, because of what Christ Jesus has done for us” (Philippians 4:19).

After receiving a couple of emails of encouragement from some friends this week on the Lord meeting my needs..I again looked up the above Scripture.   Do I really trust the Lord to meet my needs?

This last weekend I went on a date with a very nice man.  We had a nice time.  I’m glad I went, first because it was nice to just be on a date (and there were no children around!) , and second it showed me that I am in no way ready to start dating. Emotions are still too fresh, memories are just a blink away.   Sigh..I was frustrated, but after talking to friends I feel much better.  Maybe put back on track again, if that makes sense?

My respect for my friends that are single, or who have been single has grown immensely.   There is so much a single person has to trust the Lord for…so much.  This week I was also “semi-stalked” by the salesman that sold me the security system for my home.  I know, ironic huh?  It resulted in a call to the police today, only to find out that he has been reported before.  Awesome.  It’s a bit difficult to explain the feelings of vulnerability that come with all this.  Sitting down and having a good cry might be a good way of explaining it.

Being single leaves a whole host of needs unmet, or it feels that way anyway.  Being single leaves you vulnerable, or it feels that way anyway.   Today a friend sent me this message..I have her permission to quote part of what she said,   “I found Christ to be sufficient on every turn, through every struggle, every vulnerability. And I also found an extremely fulfilling life in HIM. Do you know that I can honestly say that now that I’m married, I was just as fulfilled in Christ as a single.”  

That comment was such an encouragement to me and is what I desire. Truly.  But I do believe it is something I must learn.   It is a conscious effort to rely on Him.  He promised me that he would meet my needs.  I haven’t a clue if I will ever get married again…and to be honest, the thought of that seems a bit overwhelming right now.   Right now, I plan on gleaning what I can from these amazing single women in my life, and praying that the Lord will give me the strength to rely on His promises.

“The name of the LORD is a strong tower, the righteous run to it and are safe.”

Proverbs 18:10

1 Comment

  1. Randy

    The Holy Spirit has filled me with love from which I never known. Being a new creation to bring our LORD praise is our true purpose to praise Him always. God called me to be His when I was forty eight and now I am seven years old. The circumstances of the life of a follower of our LORD Jesus is a complete one eighty from where I was and where we are going. I don’t know your pain of loosing your husband lover and best freind! Nicole all I can do is pray that in your lost and discomfort that our Heavenly Father fills your heart and soul with love and compassion that overflows your ever expectation. May His comfort be yours everlasting.

Leave a Reply

