My ways…

…are higher declares the Lord Isaiah 55:8-9

The angels are singing and so is her Daddy….

As most of you know, this last year was terribly difficult for Emma.  The ups and downs of the school year were the hardest.  She suffered academically and emotionally.   It took about 4 months after Chris died before I started noticing her experiencing grief.   She became scared all the time, wanting to sleep with me every night, was afraid to go to school, drew pictures of her Daddy in his coffin…basically never wanted to leave my side.   Just today while we were out shopping she said “I’m not going to be scared in 2nd grade mom because I know you won’t get dead”.  I’ve hoped and prayed for her this summer that she would find security again in her life.  We’ve talked lots about heaven, lots about what Daddy is doing, lots about how much Jesus cares for her.

She has also been pestering me for at least 4 months now, to be able to take the Lord’s Supper.  She peppers me with questions on what it means and why can’t she take it.  I’ve struggled with trying to explain all this to a 7-year-old. Last week her Sunday School teacher (who is amazing btw) approached me and told me about a conversation she had with Emma about becoming a christian.   Can I just say that you should never be confident that your children understand what you tell them?   🙂   Emma told her teacher that she could not become a christian because her daddy was not a pastor.   So I talked with Emma a few times this week and did my best to clear up that misnomer. She declared she was ready to become a christian, that she wanted to see her daddy again and what did she need to do?   Once again I put her off…not quite trusting her impulsiveness or her motive and explained again the seriousness of her decision.  I told her that maybe we should wait a few days and if she still wanted to become a christian I would pray with her..she happily skipped away proclaiming that in a few days she would be a christian 🙂

Today was the day.  She approached me again, we went over a few things and she declared again she was ready and we prayed.  If you’ve never led a child to the Lord I can’t explain the amazing feeling of seeing their child like faith.  As soon as we were done praying she started to race out the front door..I asked her where she was going and she said she was going to tell Clem and Sue (our neighbors) that she was a christian.  Again, I was humbled at my faithlessness.

Just last night I was telling a few friends of my hesitancy in going forward with this.  But who am I to question the circumstances the Lord has brought into Emma’s life to draw her to Himself?  I pray now, that as Emma is without an earthly father that she will grow in love and admiration for her Heavenly Father.

“He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them.  And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

Matthew 18:2-4

5 Comments

  1. Jeanne Keller

    Once again we witness the faith and hope of a little child. Thank you for this precious lesson!

    • Jeanne, I seriously need to see you next time you are here to see Karen! You have been so faithful in praying for me and encouraging me – thank you for that.

  2. Praise God! What a beautiful and powerful picture of God opening the eyes and heart of a precious little girl! Welcome to God’s family Emma, we rejoice with the angels and are delighted to call you our sister! Thank you for sharing this beautiful story Nicole!

  3. Pamala Price

    Nicole, I am so happy for you, for her,…for us as the family of God!!! And what a gift it is to you to be the one to lead her in her decision!!! How precious. My heart has been with you as the nest was emptied a bit and before that so proud of you for having a date out and seeing where you are in that right now. I’m so thankful for the security Emma is now feeling, too. That is a relief and an answer to prayers. Praying for the ‘big guys’. I’m with you in spirit as you parent so very well; your example of dependence on our Guide is the very best you can give them! Lots of love from Budapest, Pam

  4. Kris

    Nicole,

    Thank you for writing this blog. I do pray for your family and especially your Emma!!! This post is exciting and encouraging!! Please keep me posted with specific prayer request, when the need arises!

    Kris

Leave a Reply

