My ways…

…are higher declares the Lord Isaiah 55:8-9

That tiny seed of bitterness……

I’m afraid of it.    It can grow from a tiny seed to an all-consuming rage very quickly.

Have you ever met a person who lives in bitterness?  I have.  The person who is bitter is often resentful, cynical, harsh, angry, and unpleasant to be around.

Yes, 2 1/2 years later my family is still dealing with the court system involving Chris’s case. Sigh.  It’s frustrating at best.  I have no desire to try to “read” God’s providence in all the circumstances that have led up to today.  I can’t anyway.  I have his Word and it tells me to be faithful through suffering and do good!  I Peter 4:19 “Therefore let those who suffer according to God’s will entrust their souls to a faithful Creator while doing good.”  Ha!  not usually where our minds go when we are in the middle of trying circumstances. But its a relief in a way….for my analytical mind that works overtime.  I can rest in what I need to be doing each day…being faithful in my daily life and doing good.

That being said…I am still commanded to watch for those tiny roots of bitterness that can spring up in my life.  Did you know that bitterness can defile many?  So, no, you can’t just harbor it in your heart.   Our bitterness has a way of leaking out….just ask those around you.   As believers this should cause us to pause…bitterness doesn’t just grow from big awful things that happen in our lives..it can also take root from seemingly “small” things….messed up relationships, children who stray, people who offend us, and on and on it goes.  God wills that His people live in love, joy, peace, and holiness—not in bitterness. Therefore, the believer must always watch diligently, and be on guard against the peril of bitterness.  Do we care about the church, His bride..to rid ourselves of bitterness and be forgiving?

Yeah, this is a sermonette for myself :-).   One I have to remind myself of often.  For me, it’s choosing to not water that seed of bitterness….trusting in God’s ultimate justice.   I want to be found faithful in doing good.

So as I find myself again, dealing with the court system, dealing with the man who took my husband’s life, I want to keep the bitterness away and replace it with mercy and forgiveness. Thankful for the One who freely gave me forgiveness and mercy, to show me the way.

Create a pure heart in me, O God,
    and put a new and loyal spirit in me.
 Do not banish me from your presence;
    do not take your holy spirit away from me.
 Give me again the joy that comes from your salvation,
    and make me willing to obey you.
 Then I will teach sinners your commands,
    and they will turn back to you.

Psalm 51

1 Comment

  1. Amy

    So well said, Nicole. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

