My ways…

…are higher declares the Lord Isaiah 55:8-9

God has planned the circumstances that has molded our lives to this point…..

I truly believe this.  God’s sovereignty in my life has become a comfort that I do not doubt.

Most of my readers know that I became engaged to Paul Marks January 21st.  This event was preceded by a wonderful man (that would be Paul :-)) coming into my life and slowly weaving his way into my heart and life.  A heart and life that had been hurt and was wary and burdened with responsibility.  He really was undaunted in his pursuit of me…and my children. He still is undaunted and it amazes me.  A man who has been through his own share of hurt and suffering, who is humble before the Lord, and wants to be part of my life and that of my children and friends. I am so humbled by this.  Humbled by this opportunity to love again.

I could make this blog about “the dating life of a widow”.  I could share several hilarious stories, and a few scary ones, and even a kinda sad one, or even the current story (which is the best btw) but I will save those for over coffee sometime with you 🙂

What I really would like this blog to be about is God’s Sovereignty.  I’m pretty sure no doctrine is more despised by the human being, than the sovereignty of God.  I love it.  I find comfort and confidence in it. Good things, bad things…they are all from God.  Sweet and bitter Providence…just read the book of Ruth.  God exists.  God is sovereign. God afflicts.  God works all his purposes for our good.  When you believe in the sovereignty of God and that he loves to work mightily for those who trust him, it gives a freedom and joy that can’t be shaken by hard times.

With that being said, I wish I could say that my faith has never been shaken.  Ha!  What I can say is that the Lord has been faithful in His Word, through every dark moment,  through every parenting crisis, through every friend that has been there for me.

So, as I approach this next “phase” of my life..it’s definitely with excitement, but it’s mostly with a soberness, humbleness, and wonder… at how God can make something come about that didn’t seem possible.  I don’t know what the future holds anymore than I did before. I do trust that whatever it holds is for my good and his glory.

Thank you all for sharing in my suffering and my joy!

Remember the former things, those of long ago;
    I am God, and there is no other;
    I am God, and there is none like me.
I make known the end from the beginning,
    from ancient times, what is still to come.
I say, ‘My purpose will stand,
    and I will do all that I please.

Isaiah 46:9-10

2 Comments

  1. Jeanne

    Congratulations on your engagement, Nicole! Much love, grace, wisdom and gentle-kindness to you as you continue your journey. God is steadfast in His infinite Love. May you be blessed in all things, great and small.

    • Thank you Jeanne..you’ve been amazing in your encouragement over the last almost 3 years and I don’t even know you! thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

