My ways…

…are higher declares the Lord Isaiah 55:8-9

Do we have to be sad?

Upon waking up the morning of March 1st Emma asked me what month it was and was March “Daddy’s month?”

I was actually surprised she remembered and we talked about how sometimes the feelings of sadness are just there, but in the midst of them we can remember how much we have to be thankful for, and lots of times it helps those sad feelings lessen.

I contemplated her question off and on that day.

Her question holds so much (not what she was asking I’m sure).  The verse that came to mind was Psalm 30:11-12  “You have turned my mourning into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy  that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent.
Lord my God, I will praise you forever.”

Actually we do not “have to be sad”.   Or maybe our sadness is turned into Hope.
The psalmist declares that the Lord removed his sackcloth. But the Lord didn’t stop there, he then clothed the psalmist with joy.

I have often struggled, the last four years, to describe to people, the underlying peace and joy that comes with overwhelming grief and pain.   Both the grief and the peace/joy are a gift from God.  One to refine, one to comfort.  I am confident of the faithfulness of both.

I’m not sure that I can say that I enjoy suffering but I do like how it drives me to Christ.  When life is “good” I tend to develop too much confidence in myself and my own abilities to create joy.    As I type this, many people in my life come to mind.  The ones that are suffering now, the ones that have suffered…I pray for the joy and peace that passes all understanding, for Hope and Joy.

So as this fourth anniversary of  Chris’s death approaches I can honestly say that I have joy, not because the circumstances of my life are good (although that is part of the joy) but because I have Hope, and a peace and joy that passes all understanding

So do we “have to be sad”?  No!  We will be, but not always.

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

Philippians 4:7-8

Leave a Reply

